Finalists Announced for the Inaugural Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition

The Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition (EOIVC) announces that four young and talented violinists—Sirena Huang, Alina Ming Kobialka, Quanshuai Li, and Hannah Tarley—will advance to the Final Round of the inaugural competition.


The finals will be held on Saturday, February 4 at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, February 5 at 4:00 p.m. at the Wold Performing Arts Center. The four finalists—that were selected from the EOIVC’s Semi Finals Round II—are featured in a performance with the Lynn Philharmonia conducted by Music Director Guillermo Figueroa over the two days.  The repertoire for these concerts will include Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major and Sibelius’s Violin Concerto in D minor.


The winners of the EOIVC will be announced following the performance on Sunday, February 5. The EOIVC will award four monetary prizes: First Prize $30,000; Second Prize $15,000; Third Prize $10,000; and Honorable Mention $1,000. The first prize winner will also receive career support, including management and public relations representation, as well as several other prizes and honors that will be announced.


Tickets for the final rounds, held on Saturday, February 4 at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, February 5 at 4:00 p.m. range in price from $35 to $50 and can be purchased by calling the Lynn University box office at 561-237-9000 or online at A limited number of free student tickets to the Final Rounds are also available and require a valid student id upon pick up.


Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

Keith C. & Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center

Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition Finals

Lynn Philharmonia

Guillermo Figueroa, conductor

Soloists to be Determined*


Tchaikovsky               Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

Sibelius                       Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47


Announcement of EOIVC winners will take place at the Wold Performing Arts Center following the performance of the last competitor on Sunday, February 5, 2017.


Tickets: $35-$50 and a limited number of free student tickets will be made available with a valid and current student id, limit one per student and must be reserved in advance.


For more ticket information, please call the box office at Lynn University 561-237-9000 or visit the Lynn University website at Group tickets are also available and can be purchased by contacting the group sales manager at the Lynn University box office.


The Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition (EOIVC) was established by celebrated violinist, Elmar Oliveira, in collaboration with the Lynn Conservatory of Music in Boca Raton, Florida. The mission of the EOIVC is to provide talented violinists, ages 16-32, who are at the start of their careers, with networking, management, public relations, and concert opportunities in addition to a monetary prize. These long-term career development tools—reaching well beyond financial support—actively demonstrate the strong dedication of the EOIVC to cultivating and nurturing developing musicians.


The first competition will be held in 2017, and will take place once every three years. The first international panel includes seven esteemed judges. The EOIVC’s 2017 panel hails from China, Germany, Iceland, Russia, and the United States, and each are deeply committed to the development of young musicians. The 2017 judges are Andrés Cárdenes, Charles Castleman, Alexander Gilman, Gudny Gudmundsdottir, Daniel Heifetz (Chairman of the Jury), Ilya Kaler and Vera Tsu Wei-ling. Winners will be chosen through an intensive four-step process, beginning with an online submission and culminating in two final performances.


The 20 competitors who have been selected to compete in the inaugural 2017 Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition were selected from more than 80 applicants from 16 countries. The 20 competitors who will be advancing to compete in the Semi Final Round Part I range in ages 19-31 and come from eight countries—Norway, South Korea, Hong Kong, China, United States, Kazakhstan, Taiwan and Japan.


For more information, please visit the EOIVC website at